Belated Tasty Tuesday: Kimchijigae

I know it’s Wednesday already but here it finally is, my kimchi jigae recipe.

Kimchi Jigae is one of my favorite Korean dishes and I tend to eat it a lot, especially on cold and rainy days when I want something to really warm me up. It is super easy to make and I tend to make big batches so I can put it in the freezer and be able to eat kimchi jigae every time I am craving it!

Now this is my own recipe, I am not Korean so it is not authentic however after trying and trying and trying over and over again I feel like I’ve perfected my recipe and it the flavor is quite similar to real Korean Kimchi Jigae.

Here a short how to make the perfect kimchi jigae:

  1. Cook about 200 grams of cubed bacon in a big pan. You can also use pork belly but it doesn’t have as much flavor as the bacon. If you are vegetarian you can skip this part all together.
  2. Then add in about 1 kg of kimchi, there is no need to drain any excess fat from the bacon. The fat will only give it extra flavor.
  3. Add 1 medium-sized potato – cut it into slices – , 1 carrot – cut into slices -, 1 onion – in rings- and 1 crushed clove of garlic. Let this bake until the carrots and potatoes are a bit softer.
  4. Then add your liquids. Rinse the packaging of the kimchi and add another liter of plain water. You can also use vegetable or beef broth but I feel like the flavor is a bit to overpowering.
  5. Let it come up to a bowl and add about 3 tablespoons of gochujang (red pepper paste).  If you don’t like spicy food or cannot handle it, add to taste. You can also add red pepper flakes or even cayenne pepper for extra spice.
  6. Also taste if it is salty enough, add if needed.
  7. Since I use store bought kimchi which is slightly sour I like to add in about a tablespoon of honey. It’s however always better to use the best and most delicious kimchi you can find since it will affect the flavor of the entire stew.
  8. Cook for another 10 to 15 minutes.
  9. Serve on its own or mix it with rice.

This recipe will make about 4 generous portions.

 

I hope you will try it someday and tell me what you think of it! If you have your own kimchi recipe I would appreciate it if you can share your ingredients since I am always looking for ways to improve my own recipes!

 

Love, Wietske

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Belated Tasty Tuesday: Kimchijigae

  1. […] is so tasty and just looking at the video makes my mouth water. Now I’ve said in my previous Tasty Teusday  Kimchi Jigae is probably my favorite dish however it is not something to eat every single day. […]

Leave a Reply

