Korean Practise: Introduction Part 2

Today with our Korean Practise we are going to go a little bit more in-depth with our introduction. While in the first lesson we learned about different ways to tell your name, age and where you are from now we are talking about occupation, family and hobbies! Before starting with this lesson you might want to go over the explanation of the meaning of 이/가, 은/는 and 을/를 again.

occupation

I am a ….. – 저는 ….. 이에요.     For example, I am a student. 저는 학생이에요. or, I am a doctor. 저는 의사예요. Please note that the verb 이다 here changes if there is either a consonant or a vowel as the last letter.

what is your job? – 당신의 직업은 뭐예요?   Please note that behind the word 당신 I place the possessive particle 의. Click here for more information about the particle.

What do you do? / What kind of work are you in?  – 무슨 일을 하세요?  Please note, in this sentences I added to honorific suffices 시 to the verb 하다. The honorific suffices 시 shows the speakers respect towards the subject (or the person you are speaking too). Click here, and here for more information.

I’m self-employed. – 저는 자영업을 하고 있어요   Please note that Verb+ 고 있다 shows that the action is currently taking place.  For example, I am watching TV – TV를 보고 있어요. the verb ending 고 있다 can be best compared with the English ~ing, (eg. Doing, having, making, watching). To make this verb you simply have to take the verb in this case 하다 minus the 다 and add 고 있다

I’m a freelance photographer. – 저는 프리랜서 사진작가예요 I work for the government. –

저는 공무원이에요 I work for General Electric.저는 GE에서 일해요  Please note that behind the word GE I placed the placement particle 에서. Click here for more information about the particle.

I have an office job.저는 사무직이에요

I work in the sales department.저는 영업부에서 일해요 Please note that behind the word 영업부 I placed the placement particle 에서. Click here for more information about the particle.

What do you major in? –  뭘 전공해요?

I major in ….. –  저는….. 전공해요.

What is your major? – 전공이 뭐예요?

My major is …. – ….(전공)이에요.

I am a Freshman …. – 저는 일학년이에요

What do you study? – 뭐 공부하세요?  Please note, in this sentences I also added to honorific suffices 시 to the verb 공부하다. You can also ask the same question without the added 시. Then it would be 뭐 공부해요?

I study ….. – …. 공부해요.

Family

Our family consist of  father, mother, younger brother and me, we are 4 members.  – 우리 가족은 아버지, 어머니, 남동싱, 저 4명이에요.

My mother is a ….. – 우리 어머니께서는 …. 이세요.    Please note that behind the word 어머니  I placed the honorific subject particle 께서는 which is the honorific form of 이/가. Click here for more information about the particle.

Me and my older sister are university students- 언니와 저는 대학생이에요    Please note that the behind the word 언니 I placed the particle 와 which means and. Click here for more information about the particle.

Who is that (person)? – (그 사람) 누구세요? Please note that here I also used the honoric suffix 시. Click here, and here for more information.

that is my older brother. – (그 사람) 제 오빠예요.

Dyan do you have younger siblings?  – 다얀씨 동생 있어요?

Yes I do/ no I don’t. – 네 있어요/ 아니에요 없어요.

Is your younger sibling male or female? – 남동생이에요, 여동생이에요?

I only have an older sister. – 언니만 있어요.  Pleas note that behind the word 언니 I used the particle 만 which means only. Click here for more information.

Hobbies

What will you do during the weekend? – 주말에 뭐 할 거예요?  Please note that  V+ ㄹ 거예요 is used for future tense in this case to ask what you will be doing. Click here for more information about this pattern.

I will watch a movie – 영화 볼 거예요.

I like ….. – …..를 좋아해요.

I hate …. – ….  를 싫어해요

My hobby is listening to music. 제 취미는 음악 감상이에요.

Do you have any interests / hobbies? 당신은 무슨 관심사 / 취미가 있으세요? Please note that here I also used the honorific suffix 시. Click here, and here for more information.

to do sth as a hobby ~을 취미로 하다

Be good at…. – …. 잘 해요.

Be good/ unskillfut at….. – ….. 못 해요

be not that good at ….. – ….. 잘 못 해요

……. 재미있어요- ….. is fun/ interesting

 …… is not fun/ not interesting – ….. 재미없어요 – …… is not fun/ not interesting

To end it all a little test:

안녕하세요 그쪽은 뭘 전공해요? 형제 있어요? 형제가 무슨 일을 하세요?

저는 이번 주말에 슈퍼마켓이세 일 할 거예요. 그리고 운동할거예요. 운동은 잘 못 해요! 그쪽은 뭐 할 거예요?

Please translate and answer the questions in Korean if you can. You can also just translate in English and give the answers in English if you are unable to type in Korean.

Word list.

안녕하세요 – hello

그쪽 – That side/ you

뭐 – what

전공 – major

형제 – siblings

무슨 – what

일 하다 – To work

이번 – this

주말 – weekend

슈퍼마켓 – supermarket

운동하다  – to exercise

잘 못 하다 – be not good at

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Korean Practise: Introduction Part 2

  1. 안녕 하세요 언니. 저는 …전공해요. 네, 동생 있어요. 내 동생이 일학년이에요.
    나도 운동은 잘 못 해요! 🙂 이번 주말에 내가 어떻게 모르겠어요. 근데, 음악 감상이 재미있어요. (I don’t know if I should’ve written Broadcast Journalism since that is my major. I am not sure about what I’ve written here. 도와 주세요 언니!)

    • 우와 Broadcast journalism~ that’s cool. Broadcast journalism itself is 방송 저널리즘 you can often add 학 or 학과 to a job to turn it into a major. However not sure if I can add it in this case, perhaps you can 신문방송학과 which according to Naver dictionary means journalism and broadcasting. Not 100% sure though.
      Do you want to say, I am not sure what I will do this weekend? 이번 주말에 뭐 할지 몰라요. ~ㄹ 지 모르다 / ~ㄹ 지 알아 is used to express if you don’t know or do know what you will do in the future. I hope that explanation was clear enough for you ^^ feel free to ask if you have more questions!

  2. Chicken Fried Comics says:

    저는 똥맨 이에요!!!

  3. […] todays Korean Practice I made another vocabulary list that goes with the Introduction 2 lesson.  Vocabulary about occupation, family and hobbies! This vocabulary list was supposed to go up last […]

Leave a Reply

